Six Sigma


“Six Sigma is a quality program that, when all is said and done, improves your customer’s experience, lowers your costs, and builds better leaders.”

Jack Welch


Six Sigma is a Management Methodology consisting set of techniques and tools for controlling and improving a process . The term Six Sigma is rooted to statistical modeling of manufacturing processes. In 1986 It was introduced by Bill Smith at Motorola. In 1995 General Electric made Six Sigma central to its business strategy, Jack Welch then CEO initiated it. Today, Six Sigma has wide applications in various industrial sectors.

What is Six Sigma?

Sigma rating indicates the precision & accuracy of a process which can be described by the percentage of defect-free products delivered at end. A six sigma is best defined as 3.4 defects per million opportunities. In other words a process is one in which 99.99966% of all opportunities to produce a product are statistically expected to be free of defects.

Six Sigma aims to improve the quality of deliverables by:

  • Controlling process,
  • Identifying and Removing the causes of defects
  • Minimizing variability in a process.

Six Sigma Methodologies

Six Sigma follows two project methodologies inspired by Plan-Do-Check-Act Cycle. These methodologies consists of five phases each, bear the acronyms


DMAIC is aimed at improving an existing business process and has following phases:

Define     – Project goals in specific.

Measure – Collect critical data &key aspects of the current process calculate the ‘as-is’ Process Capability.

Analyze  – Investigate and verify the data.

– Determine the relationship areas

– Ensure that all factors are considered

– Seek root cause of the defect.

Improve – Optimize the current process based upon analysis

– Work to create a new/ future process.

– Pilot runs for process capability confirmation.

Control – Implement control systems for future process to correct any deviations from the targeted result

– Continuously monitoring of the process.

DMADV is aimed at creating new product or process designs. The DMADV project methodology, also known as DFSS (“Design For Six Sigma”) consists of following five Phases

Define     – Design goals as per demands and the enterprise strategy.

Measure – Measure and identify CTQs (Critical To Quality),

– Measure product capabilities

– Production process capability

– Measure risks.

Analyze – Analyse to develop alternatives

Design   – Design an improved alternative, best suited per analysis in the previous step

Verify    – Verify the design

– Set up pilot runs

– Implement the production process and hand it over.


All our Six Sigma training and certifications are accredited to Council for Six Sigma Certification, Ohio, USA.

For more information, please do write to us at or reach us at (+91) 888 558 2727

Upcoming Programs

Write a Testimonial

Validate Your Certificate

Subscribe to our News Letter

Enter your Email Address to receive our News letter
Address :

Corporate Office & Training Center
2nd Floor, Subha Vasistha Enclave,
Ramatalkies Jn, 2nd Lane,
Visakhapatnam – 530016. Andhra Pradesh.